My Writer’s Persona

Once Upon a TimeThere comes a time in every writer’s life when you really feel like a writer.  I know when it happened for me.  It was not so long ago.  Someone I had just met asked me what I did.  I took a deep breath, looked him in the eye, and with a great deal of trepidation I blurted it out.

“I’m a writer.”  And then I recoiled as if I was waiting for some gasp or physical repercussion.  I mean, you know, a lot of writers have rather, um…less-than-savory reputations.  There tends to be a lot of rambling around mumbling—mostly to ourselves—keeping odd hours, and let’s not forget a penchant for substances.   Hey, it happens.

Although I’m getting a little more comfortable in my writer’s skin, I still have a ways to go.  I’m nowhere near one of the great ones.  I hope I’m getting there, but I’m definitely not there yet.  So far I’m still in between the take-most-of-the-freelance-gigs-that-come-my-way and don’t-quit-your-day-job phase.  But it’ll happen.  It’s really a matter of time; my time and making better use of it to be specific.

Since I’m sitting on two unedited books and three more floating in my head, I know that at least I’m not out of ideas.  From what I read, that seems to be what troubles writers most.  There’s all kinds of information online about where to find inspiration.  My imagination must be quite creative and demented.  Or to paraphrase The Hub, creepy to the point of being scary.

Why yes, I do write some suspense.  (Insert diabolical laugh.)

Sometimes people become guarded around you when they know you’re a writer.  Many are convinced you’re writing about them; vain and paranoid is a comical combination.  That being said, I will admit I write my characters quite frequently based on real people.  But it’s usually just a mannerism or character trait that makes its way in, nothing too obvious.

When people find out you’re a writer they feel it’s necessary to give you story ideas or book titles.  You know, just in case you’re in a slump and can’t come up with your own.  Bless their little hearts.  I guess it’s better than being a doctor and people wanting to show you their weird mole.  Ew.

Yes, people are funny.

Oh well.  I love to write.  I love when people tell me about something I have written.  I admit it, I am definitely a writer.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Paulette on April 24, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    🙂 love it! You ARE a writer and not just that, a GOOD writer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

