Write On

Winter SunriseI hate to jinx things, but I’ve been feeling pretty good lately.  Not just physically; mentally I feel like I’m really on my game right now.  Know what I mean?

I recently finished a seven-part series on bullying.  Some articles have already been published, and they’re being shared on social media.  It’s definitely nicer to have people applaud your work instead of ripping it to shreds.  I hope all of the pieces get such good feedback.

It’s very possible that my improved outlook has something to do with our mild winter and the fact that the days are getting noticeably longer.  It makes me smile inside and out when I see the sun coming up over the trees beyond the field.  The snow has been sparse and much more manageable than usual, for which I am very thankful.

Maybe it’s the fact that spring is right around the corner.  I’ve been exercising a little, cooking and baking more, and things are finally feeling settled in our new home.  It’s amazing what removing boxes will do for your outlook.

A Twitter notification informed me that I had been added to a “Writers to Watch” list.  Good for the ego, a little humbling, and then some small doubts creep in.  But that’s okay.  Doubt, and sometimes complete darkness, is what leads to good stories.

Back in my office I make notes. (One of them should remind me to buy stock in 3M; my Post-It habit is borderline obsessive.)  The story ideas seem to be coming fast and furious.  I find my real concern is a lack of time to get everything done that I’d like to complete.  This is a good problem to have.

So I’ll keep plugging away on my 2015 Goals list, smiling as I cross off each item.  I’ll enjoy the bountiful assortment of ideas I’m getting from my early spring fever.  And, most importantly, I’ll write on.

Leave a Reply

