Football, Commercials, and Food…Oh My

FootballI’m not gonna lie; I’m not really excited to watch football on Sunday.  I know it’s the big game, but there’s not a team that I typically go out of my way to cheer for, so I’m not that into it.  But, like millions of others, I’ll still be glued to my TV.  Why?  Well for the commercials, of course.

Truth be told the commercials and the food are my favorite part of Super Bowl Sunday.  I mean, honestly, how many other sporting events do you watch where people run to the restroom during the game so they can make it back to watch the commercials?    One of my favorites is from a couple of years ago about the cowboys who herd cats.  I cannot tell you how many times I’ve watched and forwarded that commercial; it reminds me of raising children.

Budweiser has to be the master of Super Bowl commercials.  Many of them are touching, and have caused even the toughest in the room to sit in silence after it’s done.  Especially the one that aired after 9/11 when all the horses paused and put their heads down in view of the Statue of Liberty; that was powerful stuff.  But one of the funniest they had was the donkey who wanted to pull the wagon.  I still laugh every time I see it.

And of course there’s the food.  Ah, the food.  It’s kind of like a holiday from sensible eating.  One of my favorites (definitely on the spicy side) is jalapeño cheese dip served with a toasted baguette. Oh, my.  I got the original recipe from my niece and tweaked it a bit over the years.  It’s always a hit and people often want the recipe.  It’s cheesy, spicy, and served on bread, how can you go wrong?

I guess I’ll cheer for Seattle, but I’m really there for the commercials and food.  Don’t let me down, Budweiser.  Let the grazing begin!

Jalapeño Cheese Dip

2-8 oz packages of cream cheese (softened)

½ C mayo

½ C sour cream

2 C shredded colby-jack cheese

2-4 oz chopped jalapeños

Shake of onion powder

Shake of garlic powder

Shake of red pepper flakes

Cayenne pepper to taste (about ¼-½ tsp)

With an electric mixer beat the cream cheese until all the lumps are out.  Add the remaining ingredients except the co-jack and beat well.  Stir in the cheese until it’s completely mixed and scoop into a greased pie dish.  Bake at 350° for about 40 minutes or until the top is just starting to brown.

While it’s baking, slice a baguette diagonally as thin as you can without tearing the bread.  Spray a baking sheet with no-stick spray (or mist with olive oil) and place bread in a single layer on the sheet.  Drizzle/mist with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.  Bake at 350° until it’s toasted.

 

Leave a Reply

