Setting Goals, Because A Writer Writes

Square Winner 2014I read a blog post today about looking back at 2014 and seeing how many goals from your goal list you actually accomplished.  Oops, there’s another thing I forgot to do this year.  But I can still make a list for next year; and I really am going to do it this time.  Seriously.  I am.

Even though I didn’t have a tangible list this year, one goal I had was to compete and win the National Novel Writing Month challenge.  I’m proud to say I can cross that one off my list.  And, unlike the last time I finished, this book really is good.  I know it’s a “shitty first draft”, but the bones of the story are there amidst the typos and grammatical errors.  I had four first readers who all were surprised at the ending.  I call that success.

And my freelance writing is picking up nicely.  I took the plunge and purchased the 2015 Writer’s Market last month.  I cannot believe I haven’t bought this sooner!  What an awesome resource.  I will definitely be pursuing more work in 2015.

It’s been a crazy year for our family.  We closed a family business last November and moved to a rental in a strange city until we found jobs and a new house.  Now last month we moved again to another new city.  Yes, we moved our entire household (including a 120 year old piano) two times in one year.  Crazy?  Probably.  But through it all, no matter how out of control everything else around me felt, I wrote.  Maybe not a lot, maybe not anything that anyone else saw, but I wrote.

So as I look into my magical crystal ball for 2015, I am reminded of the famous quote from Billy Crystal’s character, Larry, in the movie Throw Momma from the Train, “Remember, a writer writes, always.”  It may not be for money, maybe not even for public consumption, but next year I will write.  And that shitty first draft I just finished?  Well, publication is definitely going on my goal list.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Congratulations on your NaNoWriMo win and best of luck as you pursue publication!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

