A Final Tip to Win the NaNoWriMo Challenge

Rise and ShineHere we are, the last few days of October. Soon you’ll see writers everywhere wandering around, mumbling to ourselves, as we try to work through a scene or come up with just the right word. Beginning at midnight Friday, hundreds of thousands of writers embark on their quest to write 50,000 words in thirty days.  So here is my final tip to win the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge in November.

Find your zone. Yep, that’s the tip.  Seems simple and obvious, no?  Yes.  But not everyone can figure that out.  To me it means find out what time(s) of the day your creative muse likes to appear.  She is a fickle little minx, isn’t she?  For me she pops by first thing in the morning and then intermittently throughout the day.  I try to write as early in the day as possible for this very reason.  If she pops in and lightning strikes while I’m doing something (often the case) I try to jot down a note in my notepad app or in the “real notebook” I usually carry with me. Because even though she pops in, it doesn’t mean she’ll stay long or that you’ll remember the visit!

Normally I write in the same location every day. I believe that is referred to as being locus dependent.  But if you find yourself stuck with a case of writer’s block, a change of venue can do wonders.  Hit the road and go write at the library, a coffee shop, on a bench at the mall…you get the point.  Sometimes that change of scenery brings about a creative change as well.  I know I always make up stories about the folks I see when I’m out people-watching.  Sometimes they may make it into a story or a character may take on a certain trait.  That’s the fun of writing.

So there you have it, the last of my five tips to help you win NaNoWriMo. Peek back through October if you missed the other four tips.  Hey, we all can use some help, right?  To my fellow writers, stock your desk stash, brush off those fuzzy slippers, bribe the Hub/kids to help with extra chores for a month, and write with feverish, reckless abandon.  See you on the other side!

 

 

Leave a Reply

