Saying Goodbye to Coffee

Coffee and Beans

Have you ever been drifting along in life and all of a sudden you can’t do/eat/drink something you’ve enjoyed for years?  That happened to me recently with my old friend, coffee.  We had the pleasure of each other’s company for years, pretty much every morning and sometimes later in the day as well.  And then he turned on me.  My pal, Joe, was making me sick…literally.

I was in some serious denial at first.  I couldn’t really figure out what was causing me such gastric distress.  I started eliminating different things from my diet, one by one, and making assessments of any changes.  Lo and behold, it was not caffeine as initially suspected, just coffee.  Could this be?  How can I all of a sudden have a sensitivity to coffee?

I did what any inquisitive person would do; Googled it.  What a can of worms I opened!  There are whole blogs and websites devoted to this very topic.  I am not alone in my new-found issue.  I confirmed my suspicion that it made your body more acidic, caused/elevated heartburn and ulcers, dehydrates you, and can inhibit your body’s ability to absorb certain minerals.  And after reading some of the comments on a certain website, many folks suffer a…um…how can I put this politely…a laxative effect.  Beware if you click through.  The comments, albeit quite entertaining, can be graphic!

I have tried to have just one cup.  Nope.  I guess this is just my cross to bear.  But I’m okay with it.  I love tea, so switching to a cup of chai or orange spice in the morning isn’t a huge deal for me.  Apparently some people nearly lost their minds weaning off.  As a former smoker, I sympathize with them as they go through the withdrawal process.  Hey, it gets easier, really.  Stay strong, my java-double-crossed friends.

Now, I’m not a doctor or medical professional by any means.  But, if you find yourself with stomach discomfort, bloating, nausea, or worse, I encourage you to skip your coffee for just one day.  Be mindful of how you feel during that day.  Replace it with tea or water and maybe even a couple of ibuprofen if you tend to get lack-of-caffeine headaches.  As you go through the morning, focus on how your stomach feels.  If you notice an improvement, you may have a coffee sensitivity, too.  And if you don’t, well, then I’d say have a grande cappuccino for me!

Leave a Reply

