To My Children on Mother’s Day

Boys Will Be Boys

I think there comes a time in most people’s lives where they start to reflect back.  This past week was the anniversary of a horrible car vs. dump truck accident that almost took my life.  On that anniversary I paused for a while to look back at both the years before the accident, and the 21 years since.   I came up with some parenting things I’d like to pass on to my kids, my gift to them as we celebrate Mother’s Day.

  • Treasure the day-to-day. I know when they were small I sometimes found myself wishing they would hurry up and grow up. It gets stressful being a parent. But take the time to enjoy the daily routines like chatty little ones at breakfast or evening baths and stories at bedtime. They really are only little for so long.
  • No matter how stressful things are, it gets better. It is hard to maintain your composure when dealing with someone who is naked and incapable of reason, but that will change…hopefully! Someday you will look back and wonder what the big deal really was.
  • Read, read, read. Make a point of reading to them every day. And when they are old enough, have them read to you. Discuss what you’re reading and encourage them to create their own stories. They can be quite elaborate, and how can you beat free entertainment?!
  • Keep a journal. Even if you only write in it occasionally, jot down the funny things they say and do. Or little tidbits about their personalities. You’d be amazed how quickly you forget which one was the nudist, or who blurted out something at a wedding/funeral/grocery store and caused you extreme embarrassment.
  • Cook with your children and eat at the table. My kids’ friends are always surprised when we are eating at home around the table. I know I know it gets busy and people have their own schedules, yada yada yada. But do this as often as you can. It usually leads to conversations about their day, who did what with whom, etc. It’s the best way to stay in touch with your kids. And if you start it young, it will continue on as they grow up.
  • And most of all, don’t try to be perfect! When you’re a parent there’s a lot of stuff going on. I don’t expect your house to be immaculate when I visit. There’s a difference between messy and dirty, and houses with little people get messy. Books and toys that are out tell me you have been busy and are having fun. And that is great.

So to my beautiful daughters, wonderful bonus sons, and the most adorable grandchildren ever, I thank you on this Mother’s Day.  I love being there for you, and I am so thankful that I am still here after that near miss.  And just so you know, I’ll keep cooking as long as you’ll keep eating.

One response to this post.

  1. Reblogged this on Fresh Air Musings and commented:

    It’s Walleye fishing opener and Mother’s Day weekend… I confess, this is a post from a previous year. Happy Mother’s Day to my mom and daughter, and to all the moms out there. Now let’s go fishing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

