New Home for the Holidays

Ornaments on Tree

My 100th post, on Friday the 13th, and it’s coming from our new place in central Minnesota. It has been a wild and crazy week, but also full of adventure.  I now know the real meaning of the phrase ten pounds of stuff in a five pound bag!  We hired a team of movers to transport us from Duluth to the new place.  This is without a doubt one of the best decisions we have ever made.

The guys we hired were awesome.  They gave me a good deal of guff about keeping my piano, an upright Grand made back in 1895.  Okay, I get it, it weighs a ton, but it’s beautiful and I love it.  So the ribbing was worth it.  To be fair, I got in my share of jabs, too.  One of the guys was telling me about his shoe obsession; all boxed and stored under his bed.  Who knew, the Carrie Bradshaw of moving men!

They made light work of our furniture and the load in Box Island (our old front porch).  Now we have a room lovingly referred to as Box Lake.  Soon there will be some semblance of order, but not today. Today I am too tired.  After two days of schlepping boxes, even my fingernails hurt.  Last night we barely managed to nuke some chicken fingers from the freezer and stuff ‘em in tortillas for wraps before bed.  Yes, that is gourmet fare when you’re moving.

But we got to deflate the air mattress and sleep in our own bed last night.  That was like a little piece of Heaven.  Fritz, the Mini Schnauzer, is enjoying his new surroundings as he goes from room to room sniffing.  The caboose will be down tonight to see her new room.  I don’t think she’s prepared for the work ahead of her this weekend, but surely she’ll squeeze in a little snowboarding at the new hill to compensate.

It’s all pretty exciting, I guess.  We’re on a quiet street with a cul-de-sac and I have my first attached garage (it’s the little things).  We have all of our stuff from up north, and so far nothing was broken.  I have even located our Christmas tree! Now, if I could just find the lights…

Leave a Reply

