Thanksgiving, Period

Sale Shopper

Here is something that popped up when I looked up Thanksgiving on the internet, “Thanksgiving Day in the United States is a holiday on the fourth Thursday of November. It precedes Black Friday.”  Really?  That is what Thanksgiving is?!  I felt kinda sick.  Apparently the holiday has devolved to just another meal standing between us and shopping with a few thousand strangers.

 Pie on Plate

Whatever happened to special meals steeped in tradition?  At what point did we disregard grandma’s sacred recipes and instead opt for standing in line at a big box store?  Lunacy if you ask me.  Not that you would.  I host Thanksgiving at my house.  I absolutely love it.  I look forward to it every year, sifting through my recipes weeks before, deciding which ones to serve.  Many of them are served every year, but I still try to sneak in a new one or two, just to keep everyone guessing.

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I’m not pooh-poohing shopping; I love to shop as much as the next girl.  In fact, my daughters and I usually partake in the Black Friday craziness fairly early in the morning.  But now that it is starting on Thanksgiving…nope.  I just can’t do it.  I don’t care how great the deals are, I’m not giving up my holiday.  I’m not giving up my football.

 Scarecrow

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that you have to eat the big turkey dinner on Thanksgiving. I know many folks have very different dishes for their traditions.  But what I love is having our boys in the kitchen sneaking meat off the tray as dad is carving the bird.  I love that this is usually the only time I make my Captain Morgan Pumpkin Cake, and the kids wait for it all year.  I love that we have such a big group together, that is it noisy and chaotic.  And most of all, I love our only rule of the day; Eat Lots, Talk Loud.  Because, after all, it is Thanksgiving.  Period.

Captain Pumpkin Cake

Leave a Reply

