It’s An Honor To Be Nominated

Some members of the Duluth Area Manuscript Club

Some members of the Duluth Area Manuscript Club

Last night I had the privilege of attending the Northeast Minnesota Book Awards at the University of Minnesota Duluth.  Although I graduated there sixteen years ago, walking back into the student center felt a little like I’d never left.  It made me long for the time when personal computing was really just starting to get going, but people still had mostly face to face interaction and read actual paper books.  Sometimes I miss those simpler days.

I attended the event with some members of my writers’ group, the Duluth Area Manuscript Club.  I’m quite a bit younger than the other women, but I love the experience and stories that I get to hear from them.  One was a pioneer in shattering the glass ceiling in shipping and railroads during WW II.  Another broke tradition decades ago when she entered an inter-racial marriage with a famous jazz musician.  What I’m trying to say, is these women have lived!

Walking into the ballroom was a little intimidating at first.  There were so many regional authors, many published numerous times, and publishers participating in the book fair.  We found our way to our table and settled in.  I was the only one in our group that had “skin in the game”, as my husband would say.  A story I wrote was part of a book that was up for a non-fiction award.  It was so fun to walk around and meet all the writers, hear about their books, and some of their methods.  Kevin Kling gave a fabulous presentation and there was a ton of pie.  Yes, they had me at pie.

As I sat watching the awards ceremony, I wondered how many other states had regional events like this.  Were there other small groups like mine trying to pass down personal histories and leave legacies?  Do they still write out stories (sometimes by hand) and read them aloud?  Or is everyone in too much of a hurry to download the next big thing and just text and tweet soundbites of a conversation?  I hope we’re not alone.  I hope people learn from the living, participate in history, and communicate.  And although the book my story was in did not win an award, it really was an honor just to be nominated.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Eric G. on May 24, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Congratulations on being nominated. I enjoyed reading about your experience at the ceremony and the interesting stories you’ve encountered through your writing-friends. Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

