Just One Thing

BWCA Web PicnikedWhether you are one or you know one, multitaskers are all around us.  I’m not just talking about soccer moms driving the carpool while talking on a phone.  Think about how multitasking has taken hold in the workplace.  When was the last time you sat in your office/cube/workable space and did just one thing?

I confess, I am a HUGE multitasker.  In fact, I can’t even ride in the car without doing something else.  If I am not the driver, you’ll most likely see me with a tablet, phone, or creative item in my hands.  I can’t help it; I do not sit still very well.  I have a bad habit of working at all hours of the day and night. Because of the work I do, it’s easy to pop onto a computer for a short burst of productivity and then back to whatever I was doing.  This got me wondering…what if I focused on just one thing?

For the past two days I have made a solid effort at reining-in my need to do more than one thing at a time.  I thought about one of my goals for the year (to get my office and papers organized) and actually sat down with binders, dividers, and a three-hole punch.  I have to admit, it felt good once it was done.  I had a sense of accomplishment and my papers were neatly accessible.  Maybe I was on to something.

Then I started looking at our green certification program.  In this new-found approach of unitasking, I focused on what would keep someone from becoming more socially responsible.  Of course, it would probably be the feeling of being completely overwhelmed; the incorrect assumption that a business would have to jump into a myriad of new and scary practices.   Most people think to be green you have to make a bunch of expensive changes, renovate your facility and increase your staff.  This is definitely not the case!

If you, your family, or your business has a goal this year to be more socially responsible, my adv ice is to be a unitasker.  There are many things that you can do, and you don’t have to do them all at once.  Here is a list of some options that we have compiled.  There is a cost associated with some capital improvements, but many of the items require little or no investment.  Once you have selected a few options, make a list prioritizing them and really focus on them one at a time, working to create your new culture of social responsibility.  I have a favorite saying, “If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you always got”.  That’s a long-winded way of saying change is our friend.  And in this case, it’s okay to do one thing at a time.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Rosanne Perala on January 5, 2013 at 9:01 am

    My school principal used to come into the room(late of course), saying, you all are just talking. Just think of the minutes you lost which you’ll never get back again. Guess that made me a multi-tasker. Scared the clock out of me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

