R & R…Relaxing and Recycling

I don’t attend too many girls-getaways or trips.  I guess I’m kind of a homebody and enjoy spending time with my family.  However, when the manager of the AmericInn® in North Branch, MN called me about his Women Only Weekend, I was instantly intrigued.  He knows that I fancy myself a bit of a crafty person, and this was a good chance to maybe sell some stuff.  All of a sudden Holy Craft! Upcycling was born.  Since that invitation, I have been feverishly sewing, crocheting, and crafting in my spare time.  It is really something that I enjoy, I get to re-purpose some old stuff, and it keeps me from planting myself in front of the TV!

One thing I’m looking forward to in particular is the potential relaxation.  In reviewing the flier for the “WOW” event, I spotted manicures, pedicures, and massages.  Massages…. Mmmm, massages.  That is something that I could really use.  Perhaps it’s the changing weather.  Perhaps it’s the fact that I’m getting older.  But somewhere along the way it happened, I’m sore.  Not all the time, mind you, just frequently.  The thought of a brief period of time in which stress and aches melt away sounds like it may be heaven.

I don’t futz too much about my nails anymore.  As previously mentioned in a blog post about becoming a nature girl, I don’t really have the need, time, or patience for manicures anymore.    However, a good pedicure can be amazing on tired runners’ feet.  I don’t worry so much about fancy polish; just make sure they’re soft and blister-free.  I usually take care of this myself.  But the thought of a relaxing pedi during a WOW affair can really get a girl’s motor running!

We’ve stayed at the AmericInn® in North Branch a few times.  It is a very nice hotel and they are usually kind enough to put us in a suite with a hot tub.  Talk about relaxing!  And how can you beat waking up to the smell of fresh coffee and waffles?  The town of North Branch is very nice and the people are very welcoming.  There’s a terrific little place on the main drag called the Olde Brick Inn with good, cheap food.  It’s not fancy, but neither are we, so it is perfect.  If you like it a little more upscale, The Oak Inn is almost across the street and also has great food, and still not stuffy—but they do have waitresses!   There’s also plenty of quick food nearby incase I only have a minute to grab a bite.

I do hope that there’s a little time left over for shopping.  Just across I-35 is the North Branch Outlet Mall.  The last time we stopped there I cleaned up at the Bali/Hanes and Nike stores!  I don’t think I’ve ever gone there without shopping at the Kitchen Collection outlet, but my absolute favorite has got to be the Dress Barn.  I know, it seems like such a bizarre name–Dress Barn—but I absolutely love their clothes and you cannot beat outlet pricing!

All in all, I’m very excited for my Women Only Weekend.  I have my Upcycling ready to go, have isolated my problem areas for the massage, and cannot wait to meet Rob the Mixologist for my fruity drink tasting.  Helloooo North Branch!

Leave a Reply

